NBME logo
Date Updated: April 12, 2019

Medical School Liaison Program

Medical school faculty from academic and medical associations and representatives from major student organizations serve on the Advisory Committee for Medical School Programs, as shown below.

This advisory committee is charged to improve communication and to enhance relationships between the medical education community and the NBME in areas of mutual interest. The committee is structured to systematically obtain views from various segments of the medical education community.

The committee meets twice a year to discuss a variety of topics. Additionally, they provide advice and suggestions on how best to communicate important concerns to and from medical schools and students on an ongoing basis.

Advisory Committee for Medical School Programs

Reena Karani, MD, MHPE, FACP, Chair
Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education & Curricular Affairs
Director, Institute for Medical Education
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Pratishtha Chhabra, MS (AMSA)
American Medical Student Association
Osteopathic Medical Student
Lincoln Memorial University

Princess L. J. Currence, MSW (AAMC-GSA-CODA)
Curriculum and Education Manager
Rush Medical College

Rebecca Evangelista, MD, FACS (AAMC-CFAS)
Associate Professor of Surgery
Director, Undergraduate Surgical Education
Georgetown University School of Medicine

Joseph Geraghty (AAMC-OSR)
Association of American Medical Colleges Organization of Student Representatives
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine (G2)
MD/PhD Candidate, Department of Neurology & Rehabilitation

DaShawn Hickman (SNMA)
Student National Medical Association
Medical Student
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine

Richard V. Homan, MD (AAMC-COD)
President, Provost & Dean
School of Medicine
Eastern VA Medical School

Sunny Jhamnani, MD (AMA-RFS)
Advanced Interventional Cardiologist
Banner Health and Dignity Health

Christopher D. Kontos, MD (AAMC-CFAS-GREAT)
Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiology
Duke University Medical Center

Alma B. Littles, MD (AMA-APS)
Senior Associate Dean
Medical Education and Academic Affairs
Florida State University College of Medicine

Sanjay Menghani (AMA-MSS)
Medical Student
University of Arizona College of Medicine - Tucson

Marcia L. Verduin, MD, DFAPA, FACP (AAMC-GSA)
Associate Dean, Students
College of Medicine
University of Central Florida

Diane B. Wayne, MD (AAMC-GEA)
Vice-Dean, Education
Dr. John Sherman Appleman Professor of Medicine
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

John P. Williams, MD (AMA-CME)
Professor, Anesthesiology
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine


NBME logo